The old and new federal states were created in Germany in 1990 after the fall of the Berlin Wall and the so-called turnaround.

After the establishment of the unity of Germany(Herstellung der Einheit Deutschlands), the GDR was annexed to the FRG. The GDR now divided into 5 states. Since these new ones were added to the FRG, these are also called “New Federal States“. These are Thuringia, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt, Brandenburg and Mecklenburg Western Pomerania. The old states are Bavaria, Baden-Württemberg, Saarland, Rhineland-Palatinate, Hesse, North Rhine-Westphalia, Lower Saxony, Bremen, Hamburg, and Schleswig-Holstein. Berlin has a special status as the divided capital of Germany and is neither a new nor an old state.

Deutschlandkarte Alte und Neue Bundesländer
Deutschlandkarte Alte und Neue Bundesländer

Video: Old and New States in Germany explained


By loading the video, you agree to YouTube’s privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video